Another day, another feature nobody asked for. Facebook subsidiary Instagram has now enabled activity status in direct messages: this means that practically all of your friends will now be able to see when the last time you were actively using the app was.
While some might find this change slightly annoying at first, it is not all that surprizing to see it in the main app. Indeed, Facebook integrated the same feature in its Messenger app ages ago.
The good thing about the new addition is that Instagram has given users the option to opt-out from having their activity status visible to everyone. Here’s how you can do this:
- Open the app and head to Settings.
- Scroll down until you see the new ‘Show Activity Status’ option.
- Toggle the feature off.
Please note that opting out of activity status means you won’t be able to see other people’s last activity either.
But that seems like a totally fair trade-off to me.
Featured image credits: The Verge
Stay updated with all the insights.
Navigate news, 1 email day.
Subscribe to Qrius