WhatsApp on Tuesday announced new privacy features.
Users of the world’s most popular instant messaging service will now be able to leave groups silently as well as choose who can see when they are online.
WhatsApp will also block taking screenshots for ‘view once’ messages.
‘New privacy features coming to WhatsApp: exit group chats without notifying everyone, control who can see when you’re online, and prevent screenshots on view once messages. We’ll keep building new ways to protect your messages and keep them as private and secure as face-to-face conversations,’ Whatsapp owner Meta’s Founder and CEO, Mark Zuckerberg.
With the ‘Leave Groups Silently’ feature, only the admins will be notified when you leave a group.
‘Everyone has had times when they wanted to check their WhatsApp privately. For the times you want to keep your online presence private, WhatsApp is introducing the ability to select who can and can’t see when you’re online,’ said an official statement.
Additionally, the instant messaging application will now block taking screenshots for ‘View Once Messages’ that don’t need to have a permanent digital record.
Whatsapp will also kick off a new awareness campaign to educate people about the new privacy features, starting with the UK and India.
Stay updated with all the insights.
Navigate news, 1 email day.
Subscribe to Qrius