Congress Steering Committee says no to Working Committee elections

Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge has been authorized to choose new members of the Congress Working Committee

According to party sources, a meeting was convened by members of the Congress Steering Committee headed by Mr Kharge, in which around 50 members voted for no elections for the Congress Working Committee.

According to an India Today report, All India Congress Committee in-charge from Tamil Nadu, Dinesh Gundu Rao told ‘The Congress Steering Committee has reposed full faith in the leadership of Mallikarjun Kharge. He is the elected Congress president and won with more than 85 per cent votes of PCC delegates.’

‘We have full faith in our leadership and have decided that there will be no elections for the Congress Working Committee. Kharge can nominate the members of the Congress Working Committee in consultation with Sonia Gandhi and Rahul Gandhi,’ he added.

The Congress Working Committee (CWC) is the highest decision-making body of the Congress Party. 11 party workers are nominated by the party chief, while 12 are nominated in the core 23-member body.

The last election for the CWC was held around 25 years ago. 

The Gandhis family sat out the meeting but will reportedly be participating in the subject committee meeting on February 24.

CongressCongress Working CommitteeMallikarjun Kharge